Meal prepping

Eating healthy meals is easy if you have the time to grocery shop and prepare the meals….but most nights after work it’s all I can do to get a workout in, let alone prepare a healthy dinner and/or lunch for the next day, then clean the dishes before bed. I’ve always said if I could afford a private chef I would have NO EXCUSE but to be fit!

So what’s the solution? Meal prepping!! Cooking several items to have for lunches/dinners throughout the week. It takes a little longer on the 1 night you do the prepping, but then you’re set for several days and don’t have to fool with cooking or cleaning dishes! I was on Pinterest yesterday and found a really neat website, Picky Palate, that had some great ideas and great recipes. 

So last night I started off by making some Grilled Taco & Lime Chicken (a Picky Palate recipe). Super delicious, and super easy (I’m all about the easy).

Grilled Taco & Lime Chicken

 

chicken

Once I put the chicken on the grill I started cooking quinoa (3 cups once cooked), and brown rice (2 cups once cooked), then made some garlic roasted cauliflower (another one of the Picky Palate’s recipes). If you don’t like cauliflower I think you just haven’t tried it the right way….this recipe was super easy and super delicious too!

roasted garlic cauliflower

Then I steamed some veggies (asparagus, green beans, and broccoli) using my favorite contraption, Ziplock Zip’n Steam bags. they make steaming SO EASY! You literally just clean the veggies, put them in the bag, then put them in the  microwave (amount of time required is on each bag).  I cooked each batch of veggies in separate bags, then once they were done I tossed them in a bowl with some salt & pepper for flavor.

steamed veggies

Next came the fun part of filling my Tupperware dishes. I started by putting equal parts of quinoa and brown rice in each bowl, then added the chicken, then veggies….making sure all of the bowls were of equal serving size….voila!

mealprepping

R & I each had a portion for dinner last night, and I had a portion for lunch today…..so simple. And we’re eating lots of very nutritious things. I look forward to doing this a lot more often going forward….but probably switching up the recipes each week so I don’t get bored. I also like ground turkey, ground chicken, tilapia, salmon, and I like just about all veggies.

11 thoughts on “Meal prepping

  1. I prep my lunches for the week and that’s about it – Can never figure out what I want for dinner that far in advance – usually chicken or fish though ;)

    • It’s kind of hard to describe, but I like it more than brown rice…..I think it’s a texture thing for me. Garlic salt & pepper are all I use to season it. Give it a try!! Thanks!!

  2. Wow, that all looks so yummy! I’ve thought about meal prepping before but I’ve never taken the time to actually plan it and do it. Thanks for sharing the Picky Palate website too; I am a notorious picky eater (chicken is my best food friend!) and will definitely be perusing the site regularly!

    • The steam bags make it pretty quick and easy!! Give it a try! Yes I love the site, I found lots of good stuff on there.

Leave a Reply

