CD14 Follicle Check

This morning I had my CD14 ultrasound and follicle check, and it went as well as can be expected. Based on my ultrasound my RE wants me to administer the HCG trigger shot tomorrow night at 10:00 pm and I’ll have the IUI Friday morning.

The Clomid for me has been doing its job, which is good to hear!! According to my RE the “goal” is to get as many follicles between a 16 & 20 without them getting too big before the trigger shot. And he estimates that by tomorrow (when I trigger) I’ll have 3 mature follicles and 1 almost mature (15, 16, 17, and 20). Β He said he’s able to estimate this because after they reach size 12 they grow 2 mm per day. Also, he said the lining of my uterus looks good, it’s a good thickness to be able to get pregnant. So I seem to be in a good position for IUI#1 on Friday…..although the possibility of triplets scares me a LOT. I don’t think I’ll even mention this little tidbit to R, because he would DEFINITELY be freaked out! Since our problems are male factor we’re just “giving his sperm more of a target to shoot at”, so more follicles increases the odds that at least 1 will be fertilized.

After I met with the RE a nurse showed me how to administer my HCG trigger shot. It is pretty intimidating and I have to “jab” the needle into my thigh…..she said if I iced my leg for about 10 minutes before it wouldn’t be as bad. I got a little out of breath just learning about it, so I hope everything goes okay with that. I’m a little nervous, but I think I’ll be fine because I just keep thinking about the end result.

So Friday morning I’ll have R drop off his sample at 8:00 am, they’ll run a SA on it and then wash it for the IUI, then I’ll show up at 9:45 am for the procedure. The IUI itself shouldn’t take too long, I should be in and out relatively quickly. Then I’ll be starting progesterone daily Saturday (did I mention these are vaginal suppositories, fun fun!), and I have a follow up appointment Nov 21 to see if I’m pregnant or not. If I’m not pregnant then I’ll stop the progesterone and we’ll work on a plan for my next cycle, he said there are different things they can tweak each time in order to improve the odds.

If you’re the praying kind please include us in your prayers these next few days/weeks. I have a feeling the upcoming 2WW is going to be the LONGEST ever! I’m very hopeful that this will work for us though, and trying to remain as positive as possible! πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “CD14 Follicle Check

  1. Good luck!!! You sound like me last cycle except you have 1 more follicle… everything sounds great! I had to give my HCG trigger in my lower stomach and it wasn’t painful at all. The needle is tiny and slides right in/out. The idea of icing your leg beforehand though is a great idea. Good luck with everything – I will be sending all kinds of prayers your way that this is it for you and your hubby!!

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Glad to hear your shot wasn’t painful at all, hopefully mine won’t be either! My office said for the HCG trigger it needed to be in my thigh if I was administering it myself or my butt if someone else was administering it, so I guess they’re all just a little bit different.

  2. Oh my goodness all of this is sounding so promising! I am the praying type and I WILL be praying for you! Good luck with your trigger! I’m not doing IUI, but I am still doing Clomid with a trigger shot and I am SUPER nervous! Good tips though! πŸ™‚ Good luck!

    • Thank you!! When will you find out when you’re doing your trigger? Good luck to you on your cycle too, I’ll add you to my prayer list!

  3. Oh man… tons of *~*~*BABY DUST *~*~* cycle sounds promising, The trigger I had went in my stomach there was no pain with it. I thought there would be and was freaking out about it. Praying yours doesn’t also. Prayers being sent for u guys.

  4. I’m so happy to hear you had so many great sized follicles! I go in tomorrow for my first follicle scan, and I’m hoping for news like yours! Praying for your shot and IUI!

  5. Good luck! I will be thinking of you…and we’re almost on the same IUI cycle. The 2 weeks is not easy, but it is going faster than I expected. Good luck and sending you good vibes!

    • Thanks! Yes, sounds like we are….maybe it’ll make the 2ww “easier” having a cycle buddy! I hope your scan goes well tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

