Our first IUI

HCG medicationWednesday night I had to give myself my HCG trigger shot (10,000 USP Novarel) at 10:00 pm. R wouldn’t do it, and I actually didn’t want him to….I think that would have freaked me out more. I had a friend offer for me, but since I had to do it at 10:00 pm I really didn’t want to have to be driving around that late b/c I was too wimpy to give myself my shot. It wasn’t TERRIBLE, but it definitely wasn’t a pleasant experience. I iced my leg for a few minutes while I mixed up the medication then just did it! Sometimes after giving blood or getting a shot I’ll feel like I’m about to pass out, and it happened….which sucked, but I just laid on the kitchen floor after giving myself the shot for a bit to regroup then I was fine. I will say, once I had the needle in I had a tough time squeezing the medication out, the needle kept trying to push out. My leg has been sore (the muscle itself) ever since….I hope that doesn’t mean I did something wrong.

I woke up this morning with the WORST headache, and I’m assuming it’s a Clomid side effect, lovely. I took some Tylenol this morning, but it doesn’t seem to be helping my headache!

So today was IUI #1 (and hopefully the last). R did his sample at home then dropped it off at 8:00 am, he much prefers that then having to give it in a doctor’s office…can’t say I blame him. I went in to work for a bit then went in for my IUI at 9:45 am. The sperm count was about the same as the last SA (7 million post wash), 87% motility and 12% morphology. I was hoping that the count would be higher, but the NP said that anything around 10 million is a good number for a successful IUI. The procedure itself was very similar to a pap-smear, it didn’t hurt. After she finished she tilted my exam table to where my head was much lower then my legs and let me “baste” for 20 minutes, then that was it!

Asian pregnancy testI start my progesterone suppositories tomorrow, I have to take one a day at night until my next appointment. If AF shows up I stop taking them, but if I’m pregnant I’ll continue taking them until a later date (prob 12 weeks) just to be on the safe side. Clomid can lead to a thinning of the uterus lining…..so the progesterone helps counteract that. The progesterone often comes with side effects that mimic pregnancy, so I’ll try my hardest not to over analyze everything this cycle because it could just be the progesterone….but I doubt I’ll be successful at that! R leaves for a trip to visit some college friends this afternoon and I won’t see him again until next Thursday when we go to visit family for the weekend…..so it’ll probably make my 2WW seem even longer! Only 13 more days until we find out if it worked or not –>insert prayers here 🙂

14 thoughts on “Our first IUI

  1. You didn’t do the shot wrong at all! My butt has been sore in the injection spot ever since! I also woke up with a headache on Thursday morning. I’m so glad the IUI went well and your hubby’s sperm was good! 🙂 That’s awesome! We BD yesterday and we are doing it today and tomorrow! Your IUI sounds promising! I’m hoping it works!

    • That’s what the nurse said too, I guess I was just nervous bc it was my first time. Thank you! I really hope this works!! Good luck to you guys too….guess we’ll know one way or another in just 2 weeks!!

  2. Awesome!! Sounds like everything went perfectly!! We are in the dreaded 2ww together and I am always here to symptom spot with you 😉 Fingers crossed that we both get our BFP’s in a few short days time!!!!

Leave a comment