5 days until I go under the knife

surgery

This morning I had my pre-op appointment for my upcoming surgery. I had 2 separate appointments….the first was at my RE’s office at 11:30 and the second at the hospital (my RE’s office is located inside of the hospital so I didn’t have to drive anywhere else) at 1:30, but they were able to squeeze me in earlier so I finished up around 1:00 pm.

The plan is to have 3 procedures on Wednesday: a repeat HSG test, hysteroscopy, and laparoscopy. I asked RE if by chance the repeat HSG test didn’t show a blockage this time would he stop and not do the other two procedures…..he said no. He is going to perform all three no matter what, he wants to get to the bottom of these issues and really can’t do so without doing all three.

The surgery will cost $9,488….but fortunately our insurance will cover all but $100, and I also had a $200 co-pay with my RE’s office for the surgery…..not sure exactly what that was for, but I’ll get it all sorted out soon.

The day before my surgery I’m on a “clear liquids only” diet (sports drinks, Sprite, 7-up, ginger ale, Jell-O, broths of all kinds, coffee no cream or sugar, applesauce, popsicles, tea no cream or sugar, lemonade, apple juice) and I even get to do a fun bowel prep starting at 2:00 pm. Luckily though the bowel prep is just OTC medications and not the other RX stuff….I’ll take 4 ducolax tablets all at once at 2:00 pm, then 1 hour later I’ll start MiraLax (238 gram bottle) that I can mix with fluid, I’ll have to drink 8 oz of the MiraLax every 10 minutes until the bottle is gone…..then nothing after midnight, fun fun! My appointment on the 8th is at 10:30 am, but I have to arrive 2 hours early. R will be taking me, but won’t be able to stay the whole time because of work….so I’ll be “alone” for a bit, then he’ll come back to pick me up and take me home. He took the afternoon off so he can stay with me the rest of the day. R also took off Thursday the 9th because someone has to be with me at all times for the first 24 hours after the surgery. The nurse that did my pre-op blood-work and questionnaire warned me that I may experience some gas pain. Not the type of gas you can pass though, it would be if there was any CO2 still trapped in my body from the procedure. If it happens she suggested I just find a comfortable position to lay in and take my pain meds. RE said I should be fine to go back to work the Friday after my surgery, assuming there are no complications.

I hope and pray that either A) they find there is no blockage and the HSG test was wrong or B) they’re able to remove the blockage without damaging my tube and I’ll be “normal” again. If either of those things happen we should be able to start IUI’s again very very soon. Wish me luck!!!

30 thoughts on “5 days until I go under the knife

  1. I’m wishing you all the best for your procedures and that you won’t be in too much pain! I hope anything that’s not right can be put right so you can move on soon!

    • LOL, I thought so too! I’m really dreading the liquid diet……and the “bowel prep”. Sounds like I’ll just be on the toilet from 2:00 pm – midnight.

Leave a Reply

