Post-op appointment

This morning I had my post-op appointment. Everything went fine, RE said my wounds are healing up just as they should be.

To back track a bit, the pain after the operation was more than I imagined it to be. The pain was mainly in my lower abdomen, I think from where the instruments had been inside of my body moving around…..just felt very sore there. I used ice the first day, then had R pick up a heating pad to use going forward. My heating pad is my new best friend. While I was still very sore I used it on my stomach pretty regularly, but now that I’m feeling better I like to use it on my lower back before bed and it’s amazing. The rest of the day Wednesday and all day Thursday I had to ask R to help me even get out of bed to use the restroom….you don’t think about it but you use your stomach muscles for just about every movement…so I was in bad shape. I thought I would be watching lots of movies/TV, but it didn’t really work out like that. I would wake up, watch tv for 20 minutes, take a pain pill, watch tv for another 20 minutes then fall back asleep. I slept more Wednesday-Friday than I have in a long time…..I guess just from where the anesthesia was wearing off, plus I’m sure the pain meds were making me sleepy too. I ended up not going into work on Friday, just wasn’t physically ready yet…..not sure I could have even worn real pants because I was so bloated and sore around my incisions. Day 1 back to work, Monday was a little tougher than I imagined it would be too, but I was still fine to go back since I have a desk job. Just wearing real pants again and moving around throughout the day really wore me out, but most of the bloating had gone away by then. Fast forward to today and I’m feeling almost 100% again.

So here we go, gearing up for IUI #2! Today is CD2, AF came yesterday….3 day after I stopped taking Norethindrone. It’ll be the same routine as last time…..I’ll take Clomid CD5-9, go in for a follicle check ultrasound on CD14, RE will tell me which night to administer my HCG trigger shot, then 36 hours later R will go in and drop off his semen sample, then I’ll go in for my IUI. I realize it still may be a few more treatments until we finally get our BFP, but I’m more hopeful and optimistic now than I have been in a long time.

 

26 thoughts on “Post-op appointment

  1. I’m glad you are feeling better and that you get to start your 2nd IUI 🙂 I had to take Clomid from cd3-7. I wonder why some have to take Clomid on cd3-7 and others on cd5-9? Cd5-9 makes more sense to me. Anyhow….good luck with IUI#2 😉

  2. That’s great news! Take care of yourself, lady!! You had surgery so it’s not like you should be expecting to be 100% immediately and in all likelihood your body will recover slower than your brain will think it should. Sending you good thoughts for your IUI!

    • Your comment just gave me the chills, in a very good way lol. I really hope so! Sounds like it’s going to be a big year for you guys too!!

Leave a Reply

