Award winning!

liebsterblogawardI’d like to give a big HUG and THANK YOU to Lindsey at Awaiting Autumn for nominating me for a Liebster Award, you are so sweet this meant so much to me. I decided to accept my nomination as a welcome distraction from my normal posts about cycle days, tests, shots, pills and procedures….plus it’s a fun way to get to know me better.

I’m so glad that I decided to start blogging about my infertility journey in September of 2013 and so thankful that so many of you actually care what’s going on in my life, at least enough to read and comment regularly on my blog, lol. When I began blogging I was immediately surrounded by like-minded women going through the same dire situation I was….and there were even  a few “infertiles” who had gone on to get pregnant and have children but never left her infertile friends behind. It has been so nice to vent to my infertile friends and a few select friends/family members who know me in “real” life. This blog has brought me a lot of peace and comfort, and it’s a great way to document the whole journey.

To accept my nomination, I’ve answered the questions Lindsey gave me:

  1. Are you a morning person or a night person? And why?
    Strangely enough, I’m neither if that’s an option. I used to be a morning person, I would pop up when my alarm went off in the mornings, make my bed, and get ready for the day…..until I met my husband. LOL. He’s definitely NOT a morning person, and this has definitely worn off on me over the years. I say I’m not a night person either b/c I prefer to be in bed by 9 or 10. I know this will all change when we have children, but I LIVE for my 8-10 hours of sleep at night. LIVE FOR IT! Sometimes I wake up in the mornings and fantasize about sleeping in on the weekends….and it’s the only thing that keeps me going. Sad, but true.
  2. Name 1 destination or activity that is on your bucket list.
    I was never a beach person growing up, I much preferred a pool where I didn’t get dirty….but now I LOVE beach vacations. Laying in a lounge chair with the sun on my body, breeze in my hair, and drink in my hand sounds so IDEAL, especially right now since we still have snow on the ground outside. With that said, I’d love to be able to visit Turks and Caicos, I’d say that’s definitely a place on my bucket list!
  3. What is your all-time favorite smell?
    Freshly cut grass in the summer time. It reminds me of my childhood.
  4. What book(s) are you reading right now?
    I’m currently reading “Good in Bed” by Jennifer Weiner. I actually read this book years ago and LOVED it, so I decided to pick it up again. I’ve been reading (and listening to books on tape) a lot lately. I have a class about an hour away from where we live (I’m currently in grad school, getting my MBA) on Thursday nights….so my books on tape make the time pass much quicker than just the regular ol’ radio.
  5. What’s 1 thing you miss about being a kid?
    Not worrying about “adult problems” like mortgages, car payments, A/C problems, death, infertility, etc. It was such a simpler time when I was a kid, I miss those simple days.
  6. What physical trait do you like the best about your body? We are all beautiful. Don’t be shy now.
    This is a tough one to answer when you’re not happy with your body. I’m overweight, and need to lose a good 30 lbs….but have seriously been struggling with motivation (I don’t know why losing weight isn’t motivation in and of itself) lately, I guess with everything else I have going on. My favorite physical trait would definitely be my dimple, on my left cheek. My grandma (dad’s mom) had the same one, I remember that from a few pictures we have together.
  7. Who is your ultimate celebrity crush?
    Matthew McConaughey, yum! That hair, that body, his voice….everything is delicious. Although, we just saw Dallas Buyers Club this past weekend….and it definitely made me see him in a new light. Pre-Dallas Buyers Club though he was always just so hunky to me, and he’s a terrific actor.
  8. If you could only have 1 of the 5 senses (see, hear, taste, smell, touch), which one would you pick and why?
    If I could only pick one it would definitely be touch. If I couldn’t touch people (hug, hold hands, kiss, massage, etc) I would seriously be lacking serotonin.
  9. Favorite scripture verse, life motto, or quote?
    “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind” – Dr. Seuss.

My nominations

I would like to nominate the following amazing bloggers for their own Liebster Award:

How to play

If you choose to participate (why wouldn’t you? It’s awesome), no pressure, here are the rules to “accept” it.

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.

3. Answer the questions that I give you below.

  • Are you a cat or dog person? Why?
  • What’s your favorite place you’ve traveled to?
  • If you could spend a day with someone who’s died who would it be, and why?
  • What book(s) are you reading right now?
  • What would be your ultimate vacation?
  • Do you prefer to give gifts, or receive them?
  • How did you meet your partner/spouse?
  • What’s your best personality trait?
  • Favorite scripture verse, life motto, or quote?

4. Nominate as many blogs that you feel deserve the award.

5. Create a new list of questions for the bloggers you have nominated to answer.

6. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here)

Once you have accepted your MAJOR award by writing and publishing your “acceptance” speech, you then should inform the people/blogs that you have nominated them for the Liebster Award.  Also, you might want to provide a link for them back to this post or your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

11 thoughts on “Award winning!

  1. Wow – exciting! Congratulations on the nomination! You’re always a winner in my book.
    That dimple IS seriously cute! And, I recognize that motto. Good luck!

  2. […] Three months ago I was honored to be nominated for the Liebster Award by one of my closest Infertility Sisters, Lindsey at Awaiting Autumn. I started this blog back in September as a way to vent and document my journey. Never did I imagine that people would actually read and engage in my blog in the way they have, I’ve met some really kick ass ladies through this journey, and they’ve really helped get me through some tough times. Recently I stumbled upon a new infertility blog LOVEcomaMOM, and Daniela and I really hit it off. Our stories are very similar, and we started emailing regularly. She nominated me for the Liebster award today, and I’m just so honored. Since I’ve already received the award I’m really not sure what the protocol is, but I figured I’d still answer her questions….it’s a fun way to get to know each other better. And hell, it’s a nice change in pace from my normal posts where I talk about needles, money, drugs, depression, you name it! […]

Leave a Reply

