The Diva Cup

DivaCup on BagThe Diva Cup is an internally worn reusable silicon menstrual cup and eco-friendly alternative to disposable tampons. It can be worn for up to 12 hours before emptying, washing and reinserting for another 12 hours.

I can’t remember exactly how I heard about it, but I’m pretty sure it was from an infertility sister. There is also a theory about how tampons can cause infertility in women (for more details on this click here).

In an effort to dump the hassle of tampons and sanitary napkins, and to be a bit greener, I decided to give it a try. Click here to find a retailer near you….they typically cost between $30-35. I bought mine from Amazon.com (I’m addicted to Amazon), and I’m using it this cycle for the first time. So far I love it. Be mindful that there are 2 different sizes, Size 2 is for ages 30 & over, and Size 1 is for 29 & younger….but if you’ve given birth then you’re automatically in the Size 2 category. I accidentally bought size 2 (even though I should have been size 1) and I think it fits just fine though, the size 2 is only slightly bigger.

For me, I have such light periods that sometimes a tampon (even the smallest one) is too much and I get overly dry, so I was able to COMPLETELY avoid this by using the Diva Cup instead. I’ve also read that it works great for a heavy flow too. The cup forms a seal around the vagina so you won’t get any leaking. It’s super comfortable, if you have it in right you can’t even feel it.

You can actually wear it before your period starts too, because it’s not drying like a tampon, which can help save you from some potentially embarrassing situations.

divainssert

Tips & thoughts:

  • It’s not for the squeamish. You do have to get a little more “invasive” then you do with tampons. You will be all up in your own business.
  • That “twist” the instructions mention is the most important part of the process. it is what ensures you have a good seal.
  • When they say it sits lower than a tampon, they’re not joking. It sits really low, make sure it pops open, then twist. It’s like magic once you get the hang of it.
  • The $30-35 for a the Diva Cup that will last you for around a year is far less than the close to $200 annually women spend on feminine hygiene products.

I think Diva Cups are awesome, and anyone who is comfortable with their body should give it a try! I’m definitely converted!

Leave a comment if you have any other questions. And if you’ve tried the Diva Cup, share your experience. 

15 thoughts on “The Diva Cup

    • I can’t remember exactly, but I think I heard about it from another infertility sister. There’s a whole discussion about how tampons can cause infertility, b/c of the chemicals and the cotton…..blah blah. Who knows?!? Kind of scary stuff when you start reading about it!

    • LOL, good question. No not at all. You kind of have to pinch the end when removing it, and it stays upright and everything stays in the cup.

  1. I am not typically a squeamish person but for some reason this makes me squeamish lol. How much of a hassle is it to clean? I’m afraid I’d take out and it would, like, spill. Blech.

    • LOL. Yea, I definitely don’t think this is a product for everyone. I definitely wouldn’t want to clean it out in a public place. During my cycle I clean it out at night and in the morning, I just run warm water over it and make sure to get rid of all of the fluid. At the end of my cycle I’ll wash it with a gentle soap and store for next month. No, it won’t spill when you pull it out. It’s pretty sturdy, even though it’s bendable to get in and out. It’s able to hold up to 1 oz of fluid at a time, and the average woman produces 0.4-1 oz her ENTIRE cycle, so it wouldn’t be overflowing. You actually produce a lot less liquid than you’d think.

  2. My best friend swears by it. I tried it and it didn’t really work for me. I am super heavy on day 2 and 3 and I had a very unfortunate situation where it didn’t seal or something and I was away from home with a huge mess on my hands. I don’t know if I was using it wrong or what but I could never get it to work right. I also ended up trimming the end of the stem part because I felt like it was sticking out. I dunno, maybe I’ll try it again someday.

  3. Well I ordered the diva cup on amazon and I’m supposed to get it tomorrow.. I’m actually excited to try it! Do you feel confident enough not to wear a pad with it? I’m just worried about an “explosion” like if it were to dump out or something. I guess in that case a pad wouldn’t do much either… LOL! I also bought the diva cup wash.. Do you use that?

    • Cool!! No, I don’t use a back up protection method….but honestly, if you have a heavy flow it wouldn’t be a terrible idea until you get the hang of things. I don’t think you’ll have an explosion though, lol…..possibly just a leak if you don’t have it in right. It could take a few times before you really get it! No, I just use regular ol soap…..but I’m sure it’s great too.

  4. im on my second round using it and ive almost got it exactly right every time. what a great way to save money AND not worry about leaking. I always leaked through the tampons.

Leave a Reply

