Time for a more aggressive approach

From the beginning of our infertility journey I always knew I would do WHATEVER it took to have a child, R has always been a little more reserved about it. In July of 2013, when we were given our diagnosis of male infertility, he first suggested that it “wasn’t meant to be” and didn’t want to spend any time or money pursuing other avenues. After giving him some time he came around to the idea of IUI’s. But once we started IUI’s he said he was completely against adding injectables or moving onto the BIG TICKET ITEM IVF. Well, he’s starting to come around to these things too.

This weekend we had a really good talk. We’ve been working with our RE now for 6 months, and we’ve had 3 failed IUI’s. Technically speaking we could keep doing what we’re doing, and it may work out for us eventually, but I just think it’s time to move onto a more aggressive approach and R actually agreed with me. He said by October (we’ll have been TTC 2 years, 1 of which will have been while doing treatments with our RE), we should consider moving onto IVF. This is BIG news coming from him. BIG! I brought up the subject of injectables again, because technically that is the “next step” and would only be an extra few hundred dollars…..not the $10,000+ that IVF will be. He said, “remind me why I didn’t want to move onto injectables with IUI again”? I reminded him that it was b/c the chance for twins moves from 10% to 15%, which isn’t that big of a jump to me……but when you add injectables to the IUI you bump up your chances of it working from 10% to 20%. He’s still not THRILLED about the chance of multiples (I think twins would be okay, he’s terrified of triplets or more, which I can’t say I’m thrilled with that idea either)…..but he says we should move on.

So it looks like IUI#4 will be with injectables! I’ll phone my RE’s office tomorrow to get the prescription filled. My RE’s office orders injectable/IVF meds from Europe (ivfmeds.com), they’re much cheaper than they are in the US. What my RE wants me to take would cost around $1200 here in the states, and it’ll be around $250 ordering it overseas, but it just takes a bit longer to arrive. Luckily this cycle we have the time. I’m scheduled for an ultrasound April 8th, and if I’m cyst free then we’ll be moving onto IUI #4!!

33 thoughts on “Time for a more aggressive approach

  1. Great news!! So glad R has come around!! I’ve ways wanted a girl, so if you end up with an extra just send her on down my way 🙂

  2. We ended up moving to IVF pretty quickly because IUIs were just too much of an emotional roller coaster to us. With the problem being the male factor, each month we didn’t even know if we’d be able to complete an IUI, it all depended on his numbers. And it was just too much in limbo, after everything we’d already been through, trying for almost two years. So we basically decided we were going to take control of the situation. Of course, our insurance covers IVF, so the cost is manageable. It would have been a different story if that weren’t the case.

    • I totally hear that. The IUI’s really take a toll on me too. If IVF was covered by our insurance we’d jump right in too! Thank you!!

  3. WOW! We paid over $2800 for our ivf meds! im glad your RE saved you money..do you do IVF/ICSI ? our only option is IVF with ICSI.. If you dont mind me asking what’s his count? DH count is 3 mil + 0 morphology..Wishing you BEST of luck ❤

    • No, that price is for our injectable medication for our IUI. If we move onto IVF we’ll use ICSI too. His counts have been between 7 & 10 mil. Thank you!!

      • Wishing you all the best. I’ll be stalking your journey as we are on the same boat… hopefully this is OUR year. .. PS: our RE said IVF/ICSI has much higher success result !

      • Thanks! Yes, hopefully so!! Higher success rate than just IVF? Absolutely, especially if you have MFI issues like us!

  4. I am so stoked for you! And yay for your husband with all this changing attitude towards treatment! Hoping that nasty little cyst went bye-bye and on to the lucky cycle with injectables!!

    • Oh cool, we probably won’t be too far behind! I honestly can’t remember, it’s been a few months since we’ve discussed it. I will definitely update you when I find out!

      • Looks like I’ll be taking the generic of Repronex (aka Menopur). They had me order 10 vials of the 75 IU, but I’m not sure what the exact protocol will be.

  5. So glad he came around! I think the longer our men see us struggle, the more they want to help fix it. I can’t imagine how hard it is for them too, to just see us hurting and not be able to do anything about it. I’m doing injectables now and for me there are WAY less side effects, which is great, but I’m on such a low dose because of RPL, he doesn’t want more than 2 follicles. Good luck!!

    • Yea I think you’re right! I’m still waiting for a call back from my RE’s office….but I think they do injectable a & clomid, so I may not be able to enjoy the lower side effects from just injectables. Our RE wants 3-4 good sized follicles, so weird how they’re all different. Thank you!!

  6. Good luck! We skipped on injectables with our iui’s for fear of multiples and moved into ivf. But only because our insurance is paying. Good luck, I’ll be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

