Mother’s Day

photoMother’s Day is coming up this Sunday. It’s a tough holiday for me for 2 reasons 1) my mother passed away 6 years ago and 2) because I struggle with infertility and I’m not yet a mother myself. I would love to be able to spend just 1 more Mother’s Day with my mom…..it’s such a tough holiday without her. I just kind of feel like I don’t belong on Mother’s Day. But I know I’m not alone, I know this is a tough holiday for a lot of you too. This past fall I had a friend who suffered a miscarriage, and a friend who had her twin daughters pass away in her arms just an hour after birth….I can’t imagine how tough this Mother’s Day will be for them. Mother’s Day is a very hard holiday for those struggling with infertility, miscarriage, and infant loss….and those that no longer have their mothers.

I came across a beautiful video by Missy Lanning from Mother’s Day last year, and she hit the nail perfectly on the head, so I wanted to share! Take a few minutes and watch the video….be warned, you WILL need Kleenex…but it WILL be worth it! 

No matter if you’ve suffered a miscarriage or still birth, have been TTCing for months or years, adopted your children, became a step-mom, lost your perfect baby, or have a bright and cheerful bundle of joy–you are a mother, and today is your day. A very special Happy Mother’s day to EVERY type of mother! ~Missy Lanning

I hope and pray, more than anything, that next Mother’s day I’ll be celebrating with my baby or at least a baby bump 🙂

Just remember to think of and pray for all women struggling with infertility, miscarriage, and infant loss this Mother’s Day! And if you’re lucky enough to still have your mother in your life be sure to celebrate her the way she deserves this Sunday!!

Miss you mom ❤

images

P.S. Missy said she would be making another Mother’s Day video this year, so check out her YouTube channel on Sunday if you’re interested in seeing her new video.

16 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Beautiful video. You’re in my thoughts, love. I wish you every happiness and joy with this cycle. Lots of sticky baby dust your way!

    • Thank you so much!! I just feel so good this cycle, so much more at peace then ever before….I hope that’s a good sign.

  2. I love this video that Missy made. Every time I watch it, it brings me to tears. Her words are perfect. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Reblogged this on and commented:
    I love this post from one of my blogger friends at: Infertility, why me? It’s for all those out there who want to be Mothers, for those who were only Mothers for a short time and for those who became Mothers through untraditional means. Happy Mother’s Day! And you better grab a Kleenex!

    • So I didn’t know what reblogging did and now I understand and screwed it all up in the learning process. Sorry for the weird comment. But I loved this post and had to do my own on the subject. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. […] was originally given the idea for this post from my blog friend at Infertility, Why Me? She wrote a wonderful post about a vlog called “Portrait of a Mother” by Missy Lanning. […]

Leave a Reply

