Taking a break

blog-3I had my IUI #4 follow up appointment with my RE today, and it was very productive. I told him about our plans to take the summer off, and he said that sounded like a great plan. He agreed that sometimes you just need a mental break, and it may be just what we need. We did discuss IUI #5, he said with our first injectable cycle I didn’t stimulate quite as well as he would have liked to have seen, so he’s going to up the dosage on the meds from 1 vial of hMG to 2 per day (which will add an additional $150 to the protocol). He’s already called in the prescription for our next cycle, he said for me to order it whenever we’re ready, which will be around the beginning of August in preparation for a September IUI. And in September as soon as I start my period I’ll need to schedule a CD3 clearing ultrasound just to be sure everything is okay before getting started on the meds again.

I also told my RE that I felt like I needed to be back on an antidepressant and I needed something for my anxiety. He said he could call in that prescription for me, which saved me a trip back to my primary care doctor. So I’m going to start Zoloft 50mg/daily for depression, and Xanax 1/2 pill as needed for anxiety. The antidepressant, from what I remember, usually takes a good 2 weeks to get into your system…..so I anticipate feeling better overall within the next month. I have been on Zoloft in the past, and I really liked it. It didn’t make me feel artificial or anything, just evened everything out for me….and made the lows not so low.

I started tracking my calories with MyFitnessPal again today, and will start Insanity this evening. My goal is to lose 20 lbs this summer, and to work on drinking less diet coke’s. That’s all for today, I plan to do a weekly check-in blog post to let you know how I’m doing with my goals. Wish me luck!!

39 thoughts on “Taking a break

  1. Very excited for you to relax a bit before your next cycle. I’m been on Zoloft 100mg a day for awhile now, and I love it. You’re so right that it just balances everything out. Good luck to you!

  2. Good luck with your MFP and 20lbs. I basically have the exact same goal! I break will be good. Everyone needs it after all of the up and down. I will be thinking of you!!

  3. I think this is great. I’m telling you, a break did me and DH a whole hell of a lot of good!! I believe it gave us a chance to “reconnect”. Also, definitely don’t be too hard on yourself with your 1st injectable cycle. My 1st injectable cycle, I had awful response – my RE even told us to consider donor eggs! But with a few more cycles, he was able to figure out what meds my body responds best to… and now i’m creating way more follicles!! I also still think your price of injectables is a DREAM!! From my 4 IUI’s, I’ve spent $9K out of pocket!! Please still continue to keep us posted with what’s going on with you. I’m looking forward to your weight loss journey… definitely a journey I should also join you on!!!

    • Absolutely!! Thanks. Yea, I’m not too upset about my injectable cycle….I still had 2 beautiful follicles, it just didn’t work out. Yes, we’re very fortunate to be able to order from IVFmeds.com, SO MUCH CHEAPER!!!!!! I will, I hope I have LOTS to update you on over the next few weeks! Well….wouldn’t hurt to make some small changes, sometimes the small changes are the easiest to make.Thanks for your support!

  4. Sounds like some smart decisions! Feeling mentally and physically healthy for #5 might be the right fit!! xo

  5. It sounds like a break will be refreshing and hopefully give you a fresh start in the fall! I quit diet coke cold turkey 3 weeks ago. I had tried to cut down to 1/day but I found it harder to hold myself to! I had 1 day of headaches and it’s been smooth sailing from there – no cravings or anything! You can do it!

  6. Your summer sounds a lot like mine. Get healthy without babies and cycles and meds on the brains and then resume in the fall. I am thankful to not be alone in my “break”. This journey can be do isolating and when I am on a break I feel very disconnected from this community which is my support group. Thanks for blogging. xoxo.

  7. That sounds like a great plan. This journey is so stressful, I forget sometimes to think about how I’m coping with it all. I hope you have a good summer break and good luck with the diet 🙂 I’m on MFP too if you want to make friends on there. It’s under my real name though… With a PICTURE of my FACE! Email me if you want and I’ll add you. Having said that, I’m basically just recording what I’m eating everyday and not doing very good at losing weight! I’ve only lost 5lbs in about 8 weeks!!! xxx

  8. Enjoy your break from TTC. I remember how nice it felt to just be me again, not the me who couldn’t get pregnant when I took a little hiatus from infertility. Enjoy this time reconnecting with yourself and your husband.

Leave a Reply

