Goodbye facebook

Facebook-DeletedI’ve deactivated my Facebook account a handful of times in the past in a an attempt to “give up the addiction”, and think it’s time that I give it a go one more time. I just find myself checking my news feed WAY TOO OFTEN, when I’m bored or stressed and I just don’t think I’m getting anything positive from it. I’ve decided to quit Facebook because it makes me feel like a loser. I find myself comparing myself to my friends, regarding my weight, career, house, family, pets, vacations, etc…..you get the idea. And lots of my “Facebook friends” are people I haven’t even had a real conversation with in years. I feel like social media leads us to a less genuine kind of empathy, and a less genuine way of keeping up with our real friends. I’m going to make more of an effort to call/email/text my real friends more regularly, hell I may even write them a letter from time to time.

Yes, I think my decision has a little to do with my infertility, but on the whole I just think this is the best decision for me personally. I just don’t want to miss out on living my life because my nose is constantly buried in my iPhone’s mobile News Feed, reading about what someone else is doing with theirs.

I realize this may mean I’ll be the last one to hear social news, but I’m okay with that….I think it’ll be a good thing to keep up with my friends the “old fashioned way”. I look forward to receiving news in a more personal way.

33 thoughts on “Goodbye facebook

  1. woot woot!!! congratulations!! I did that about 10 months ago and the anxiety and drama have significantly gone down. now, none of my immediate family is on there and all of my REAL friends contact me through other avenues. its definitely one of the best things I’ve ever done!!!

  2. Don’t blame you! I have also done it dozens of times. Unfortunately my mom would text me and complain that she couldn’t talk to me on there lol. And I have some distant relatives I only talk to through FB. I do the same thing though.. I check it constantly! And I work from home, so it’s really tempting. I get absolutely nothing from it except feeling jealous and inadequate. I hope you notice a positive change from it!

  3. Kudos to you! I did this back in April and only lasted about two weeks. It was very liberating being off the social radar. Although I only deactivated for two weeks, I still find now that I check my Facebook less and post less. So I guess it helped in that I am wasting less time on there. I also went through and “Unfollowed” people that I didn’t necessarily want to un-friend (for various reasons). Now I don’t have to see their News pop on my feed.
    Also found this article right around the time I went on my hiatus – http://www.huffingtonpost.com/leslie-rasmussen/screen-sense_b_5187209.html

  4. I’m in the same boat, stopped looking at Facebook a while ago, and it’s definitely helped. I haven’t fully deactivated, but I probably should!

    • SAME HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m not even FB friends with my MIL, she has deleted me twice…and I’m just not adding her back a third time. Now I don’t have to even worry with it.

  5. I did the same thing for a while when going through divorce drama with my stupid ex who couldn’t keep his mouth shut. I found my time to be more productive but I also seemed to lose touch permanently with a lot of people who can’t be bothered to either text or inform those without Facebook of events they posted. I eventually got a new FB account a while later to get rid of the randoms on there. I vowed not to put the app on my phone and only check it at home on my laptop. Hope it makes your life less dramatic!

    • Absolutely, I agree 100%. I just need to be off. Maybe it’ll be temporary, maybe it’ll be permanent…..but it’s been a week so far and I feel great.

Leave a Reply

