Medical bills….what a crock of shit

All three of my beta hcg blood tests (from May) have now been submitted to my insurance, and 2 of them have already been paid. I just wanted to share what a crock of shit it all is though. The 5/23 one is from my doctor’s office, they drew my blood there then sent it to the lab for results….and it’s more than DOUBLE what it cost me to go directly to go to the lab. WHY ON EARTH would they charge $540 for a blood test? This is such horse shit. My insurance company hasn’t paid it yet, but hopefully I won’t be stuck paying too much for it. The 2nd & 3rd tests were cheaper, and I ended up paying $53.79 out of pocket for those. WTF?!?!?

It just hurts having to pay those bills, because that pregnancy didn’t work out. I think if I was 13 weeks pregnant right now (like I should have been) it would have been an easier pill to swallow. It’s not fair. Infertility is such a bitch.
insuranceclaims1
insuranceclaims

 

34 thoughts on “Medical bills….what a crock of shit

  1. I think your insurance company is in the process of asking your doctor’s office the same question, “um – ‘you crazy’ if you think we are going to pay that much.” My RE charged my insurance company $49,000 for our first IVF and I think my insurance company told them the same thing. I find that doctor’s office charge high to see what they can get away with sometimes, effing ridiculous. Hopefully you don’t need to pay anything more!

    • LOL, I bet you’re exactly right!! At first I received the bill in the mail and they had marked me as a “self pay”…..I quickly reminded them that I did have insurance….and they needed to be billed. I think you’re right, and it’s such crap. $49,000???? HOLY SHIT!!!! Thanks, I hope so too.

  2. ughhhh 1000% agree on this. Every time I pay one of those bills I WISH it was still via check instead of online so I could write nasty notes about infertility in the memo section. *crank face*

    We hear ya girl.

  3. Wow, it’s $143 here at the medical office I work at, and that MORE than covers our costs and the highest amt we are reimbursed by insurance companies. $540 is a crock of shit.

    • Yea, it’s just bullshit….and pisses me off. Especially if you have to pay out of pocket for everything….then you’re basically screwed.

  4. I work in healthcare finance, fairly close to this exact topic. It’s hard to explain pricing in a small comment field. But I’ll try! Some insurance companies have a set dollar amount they will pay, and in those cases, it doesn’t really matter what the doctor/hospital charges, they will get that certain dollar amount. Other insurance companies though pay a % of the charge… And there in lies the need for the absorbingly high fee… The larger the fee, the more they get on a percentage basis. If your insurance doesn’t pay based in percents, it makes little difference what the original charge was… Of course, this is all different for self pay when insurance isn’t involved, which more times than not is the case with infertility.

  5. I hate the bills on top of bills. And it sucks also when you take a “break” cause you think you’re gonna get a financial breather (no meds, no visits), but then the past visits catch up and you get all those bills!! ugh. annoying!

  6. Arg. Infertility costs make me stabby! It’s so unfair. I saw a commercial recently that said Medicare covers penis pumps for old men at 100% and I lost my effing mind.

    • I saw that same commercial. What crap! My insurance covers 100% of abortion too. I mean I get it…long term it’s cheaper for them to pay for the abortion then the delivery and kid…but since we’re suffering from infertility it was just tough to read that!

      • Totally! I can’t wait for us all to be on the other side of infertility. Then we can spend our money on our sweet babies and not on medical bills. 🙂

  7. I’m sorry the bills are rolling in and stressing you out. As if all of this didn’t suck enough…
    When my D&C bills came in the charges were for an “abortion” and I cannot even being to tell you how much that hurt to see. I hate the medical billing industry.

  8. The human medical field is ridiculous in terms of what they charge. Sometimes even with what they decide medically, but, hell, that is an entirely different discussion. It’s insane that I can do an entire baseline work-up for around 300 to 400 bucks but the same blood-work and exam with MDs is more around several thousands of cash monies. I hope you are not stuck with all of this, or at least the minimal amounts. The most ironic thing is that so many have take-home babies for literally a few PBRs. dumb.

    • Yea, it’s crazy how much more expensive it is for humans. I doubt I will be, they’ve been pretty good so far…we’ll see. YES, that’s the most ironic thing…..a large percentage of people have babies for so cheap.

  9. There is no doubt about it that our health insurance/medical expenses in this country suck, as does maternity leave. I am having a hard time swallowing the fact that I will still be paying off the emergency surgery bill for my 2012 ectopic pregnancy ($13k) long after I have had, and paid for, the baby I’m pregnant with now (assuming everything goes well.) It’s tough to take. I can relate to the wording of “abortion” being on there, too, as someone else mentioned. The detailed explanation of benefits from that surgery uses that wording, too. Couldn’t we at least call it something else when it’s an involuntary pregnancy loss?

Leave a Reply

