Infertility sisters

photo“Infertility sisters” was not a term I was familiar with when I started TTC. And why would it be? We all assume that within a few months after we start TTC (a year at max) we’ll be pregnant, 9 months later we’ll have our baby, and that will be that. Once you pass that 12 month mark things change. The world of infertility can be very isolating. Our “fertile” friends and family are supportive, but they don’t get it 100%, and why would they? I wouldn’t get it if I wasn’t going through it myself. It’s a whole world I didn’t even know existed until I realized I was a part of it. This blog has helped me to connect with so many women going through similar situations, and it’s been a wonderful community. I have several women who I now consider “infertility sisters”. I’ve never met most of these women in “real life”, but we just get each other…..and I’m so glad to have them in my life.

A few weeks ago I received a letter in the mail from one of my infertility sisters, A Calm Persistence. I was just about to open it when I noticed the note on the back that said I wasn’t supposed to open it until August (when my next cycle would be starting), so I tucked it away in my sock drawer and kind of forgot about it. Over the weekend I remembered it was there and I opened it up. The card said “Believe” on the front and had the most amazing hand written message inside and on the back. It brought tears to my eyes. It’s just incredible that a woman who I’ve never met felt compelled to send me this letter, so thoughtful and sweet….and it means so much to me. Thank you S, I love the card….thank you for being there for me!!

Please keep my infertility sister, A Calm Persistence, in your thoughts and prayers over the next several weeks. She has had 3 miscarriages within the past year and is currently pregnant with her 4th child and things haven’t been perfect so far. She has another ultrasound coming up next week, and I just hope and pray that her baby has grown the right amount and things start measuring on track! She’s such an amazing woman, so strong. I want this so badly for her, it just breaks my heart that there is so much pain in this world. Thinking of you S, I pray for you and your little peanut every night.

10 thoughts on “Infertility sisters

  1. Oh wow, love this, that was so sweet! Will be praying! 🙂

    I know you have already been nominated, but I am nominating you for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Thank you for being so open and honest about the struggle of infertility. You are a big encouragement to me! x

  2. I can’t tell you how thoughtful this post is. Thank you so much for waiting to open your card, writing such a heartfelt post, and sending prayer warriors my way. It truly means so much to have an Infertility Sister like you. (I love the way IF sister sounds too. I truly believe that this is your cycle. I want this so badly for you. Sending you love and strength this cycle. ❤

  3. My ‘infertility sisters’ have been a lifeline in my experience over the past few years. You’re right. No one gets it unless you’re going through it. Will say a prayer for your friend.

Leave a Reply

