No urine output test needed!

Good news, my blood work looks great so I don’t have to do the urine output test, at least for now. My RE advised me to keep monitoring everything and taking it easy. He said that if I do get pregnant from this cycle that the HCG produced in pregnancy could trigger the OHSS, so I’m not out of the woods just yet. My RE gave me his work cell phone number and told me to text or call if any of my symptoms worsened.

So now I’m wondering if I should do some type of craft with my urine collection device since I no longer need it. Maybe Pinterest will have some ideas?!?!

What is Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome?

Ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (OHSS) is an excessive response to taking the medicines (especially injectables gonadotropins) used to make eggs grow. Rarely, OHSS can result from taking other medications, such as clomiphene citrate or gondatotropin-releasing hormone.

Women with OHSS have a large number of growing follicles along with high estradiol levels. This leads to fluid leaking into the abdomen, which can cause bloating, nausea, and swelling of the abdomen. When OHSS is severe, blood clots, shortness of breath, abdominal pain, dehydration, and vomiting are possible. Rare deaths are reported. ~Society for Assistated Reproductive Technology

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “No urine output test needed!

  1. oh i am so happy to hear this!!! OHSS is no joke. i was really hoping you’d be spared and… viola 🙂 do keep an eye on yourself though and do take it easy. lots of time later to be a busy bee.

Leave a Reply

