National Pregnancy & Infant Loss Awareness Day

pregnancy&infantlossawarenessmonthIf you’ve never lost a child, experienced a miscarriage or a still birth you might not know that October is National Pregnancy & Infant Loss Awareness Month. More specifically, October 15th is a universal day of remembrance for pregnancy loss and infant death. This day is observed with remembrance ceremonies and candle-lighting vigils….I know I never knew something like this existed until it applied to me.

Did you know that:

  • One in four pregnancies ends in the loss of a baby
  • The loss of a child is recognized as the most intense cause of grief
  • Parents never “get over” the loss of a child – no matter the age
  • Parents experiencing grief without supportive care can have debilitating consequences such as PTSD, depression and anxiety that could further result in job loss, divorce, difficulties in daily living, or impediments with parenting of living children

The loss of a child stays with a family forever, but the emotional and physical impacts are often challenging to others to truly understand. Having support through grief is paramount to recovery. Raising awareness is the first step to accessing available help.

Events across the country take place each October and help people better empathize and support parents on their journey to hope.

This October in addition to remembering my angel babies (not that I ever forget them) I’m also thinking of many of my friends who have experienced pregnancy loss or lost a child. No person should ever have to go through such pain, but it does happen….and all we can do is be there for our friends & family. Additionally, lots of people suffer in silence in regards to miscarriage…so I’m certain I don’t even know of all of my friends/family members who’ve suffered a loss, but I’m thinking of them too.

13 thoughts on “National Pregnancy & Infant Loss Awareness Day

  1. this is a day i didn’t know about until a couple of years ago. since then i’ve lost 3 babies. october 15th is my birthday. this year we have something extra to celebrate but i will always take a moment to think of my babies and all the others that have been lost and are grieving. xox

  2. I never knew about it until last year after having a later term loss. My Earlier losses happened at the beginning of the year so maybe I wasn’t paying attention come October?
    I often wonder exactly how many people we know who had losses but keep silent about it. Last year my mom told me about how my aunt lost a baby at full term..I’m pretty sure I had never heard them mention that at all before.

  3. They do a walk/run in our city and a memorial service afterwards. One of my friends attended it last year even thought she lost her baby over 10 years ago. I truly believe that infertility and pregnancy loss need more attention from society. Women should not have to grieve in silence.

  4. I have lost a daughter (Rebekah) and a son (Joseph) to stillbirth. Both looked very healthy and ready for us to take home. Somehow, this made the loss almost unbearable. We went through two funerals and laid them to rest side by side. Their deaths were 4 years apart and were both caused by true knots in the umbilical cord. Nobody wants to hear us talk about our son and daughter, it makes them sad. Sometimes I think about all that went on and wonder if there is anyone who will listen and understand? Apparently there are people who do for I have stumbled on to this website!! Thank you!!!!!

    • I am so sorry for your losses, I can’t imagine going through that once let alone twice…..I’m so sorry. I’m also so sorry you feel like no one lets you talk about it anymore….that must be really tough too.

Leave a Reply

