Extended break

danishstudyInfertile couples are three times more likely to divorce. Pretty crazy statistic huh? Well, I definitely see how that could happen. Infertility has put such a strain on our marriage these past two years…we’ve been through so much with all of the ups & downs and highs & lows. We just need a break from it all.

At this point we’ve decided to take a 1 year hiatus from all things TTC/infertility.
We need to focus on our marriage and getting back to our “happy place”. The fortunate part is that I am only 28 years young, so my biological clock isn’t ticking too loudly just yet.Another thing in our favor is that we do know what works for us (IUI, Clomid, injectables & HCG trigger shot), should we pursue TTC again….but we may also put it all aside and pursue adoption at the end of our break. Another good thing is that R and I are back on the same page, with a lot of things. We’ve had some really tough conversations over the past 8 weeks (since our ectopic) and I know that we’ve got a lot of work to do this next year on ourselves and our marriage, but I’m confident we can come out of this storm much happier and stronger than we’ve ever been.

Hell, maybe we’ll be one of those lucky couples (that all infertiles hate to hear about) that gets pregnant when we stop trying. But I’m not holding my breath….we really do just need a break.

I plan to write a summary blog post about my ectopic/methotrexate experience once it’s all over (yesterday’s HCG was 20), but other than that I’m also taking a break from my blog & instagram account indefinitely. If you want to reach me just shoot me an email: infertilityblues@gmail.com.

❤ ❤ ❤

43 thoughts on “Extended break

  1. That is great that you have decided to take a break and do what is best for you and your marriage. I wish you all the luck in the world and hope that you are back soon to document your new journey!

  2. It´s a good thing to know when to take a break, and remember you as a couple, not only an infertile one. Hope you’ll find the answers you’re looking for, and i look forward to hear from u. Xxx

  3. Glad to hear you and your husband are doing better. And glad to hear that your hcg level is even closer to negative. I hope you will be one of those couples too. Nothing is impossible 🙂

  4. So glad that you guys are working things out!! I’ve been worried about you. I wish you all the luck in the world, both with your marriage and with your family.

  5. I am so thrilled to hear that you guys are working on everything and taking a break! I can tell you in less then 2 cycles of not trying and starting to look at adoption, we are both feeling so much less stress. So based on this, I think it’ll be a really good thing for you guys to take an extended break. Wishing you the best!

  6. You gotta do what is best for you and your marriage for sure. What good is it if you bring a child into a crappy marriage? I say you guys are amazing for putting your marriage as a priority. It’s not easy to do.

  7. Well I’m sorry to hear that you’ll be leaving the blog world all together, but happy you and you husband can get on the same page. It’s important to remember we married these people FOR LIFE in good times and bad, so take care of your marriage first, and of course yourself. Xo

  8. I was thinking of you lots this weekend Jen. I’m glad you both were able to get on the same page and find some comfort in your decision to take a break. I’m so sorry to hear your ectopic nightmare isn’t over yet…. But it sounds like it should be soon. Always remember you can message me anytime even if it’s not about fertility.

  9. I’m glad you guys have managed to work through things. IF is SO hard on a marriage! My hubs and I took several breaks, our longest being around a year and it did do us a lot of good. I hope you both find refreshment in this break. 🙂

  10. My husband and I got precariously close to divorce after our failed treatments… We decided to take a break from TTC and focus on US. While it’s been over a year and we’re not pregnant – in fact, we’re in the middle of the adoption process – our relationship has absolutely flourished!! It’s amazing what we learn and how we can grow when we pay attention to the little things!!! Enjoy your time with him!! And stay confident in your decision!! ❤️

      • Don’t get me wrong, we still have our rough moments!! Lol!! It took counseling to help straighten us out… but I think we both needed to hear what the other was saying in someone else’s voice – if that makes any sense!! Haha. I think what makes us women that deal with infertility so strong is that we find the success in our failures… Things may not work out how we plan them to, but we fight for our dreams along the way. I pray you’ll have a successful year, also!!! ❤️

  11. Good for you! We took a yearlong break as well and even though we still had our ups and downs, it was so worth it. Ttc was always still in the back of our minds, but not our focus. Monthly date nights became a regular thing for us and we have grown together so much-we’re actually a little bit grateful for infertility. I look forward to hearing how your relationship deepens when you return. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

