Time is such a funny thing

It’s so “funny” how quickly the time passes during the first 2 weeks of your cycle, but once you pass ovulation and you enter the 2WW it just drags on. I can’t believe today is CD7 for me, which means I’ll take my last dose of Clomid tonight and start my injections!

I received amazing news from a close friend of mine last night (the one who also has been suffering with male factor infertility and lost her twins last November). She is now 7 weeks pregnant. She attributes a lot of her success from acupuncture and staying away form soy and dairy. On their first cycle trying again they did IUI with Femara only, she didn’t want to run the risk of twins again, which I completely understand. She said she is happy, but terrified. I’m just so happy that God blessed them with another baby, and on their first try, because I know how much it takes out of someone having those failed cycles and I’m not sure how much more they could have taken. I’ve heard so many positive things about acupuncture, and if this cycle doesn’t work out for us I think it’s something I’d like to look into. They’re coming to visit us in a few weeks and I’m just so excited that she’s pregnant again. Now, this is not to say I’m not a little jealous…..I do wish I was pregnant too, but she just has a special place in my heart because of all of their struggles. I hope and pray that this IS their rainbow baby and that in 8-ish months they can take that baby home with them.

**For those of you that may not know what a “rainbow baby” is, it’s a term used to refer to a baby after miscarriage or loss. “After every storm there is a rainbow of hope”. il_570xN.562033156_hgww

20 thoughts on “Time is such a funny thing

    • It just warms my heart, I’m so happy for them. LOL, I don’t know how much help I’ll be since I’m not even giving them to myself. I let my friend do the heavy lifting of “stabbing” me, then I push the plunger and jerk out the needle so I feel like I’ve done something. LOL! Thanks lady!

  1. I am feeling that 2 week wait pressure right now. I’m only 2 days in. UGH! only 12 more days to go. I am pretty sure time actually slows down during this time period. haha. I am so happy for your friend. That is wonderful news. It gives me hopes for my future. 🙂

  2. I am a believer in acupuncture as well. I went to one and she told me no dairy, no cold beverages, all food to be warm or hot. She said you want your body to focus on a sticky baby and not digesting dairy it warming up food. You still have time to go. I believe I went twice before my IUI then a few times after. 🙂

    • So interesting. I actually called EVERY place listed in my town for acupuncture yesterday and today to try and make an appointment and NONE of them answered their phones. So weird!!!! I would like to give it a try though. Honestly I hadn’t given much thought into still doing it this cycle. I’ll keep trying!! Thanks.

  3. Sending you lots of prayers and positive thoughts for this cycle. I hope you will have your own pregnancy announcement to share with your friend very soon! I did acu for over a year and really liked it, but the cycle I got pregnant with this pregnancy (and hopefully the lasting one), was actually on a cycle where I was taking a month off from everything including acu. So who knows, but I really do recommend it too. Everything is crossed for you and this cycle!

    • Thank you so much! I hope so too, it would be so fun to have kids around the same age too 🙂 Thanks again, I really appreciate your support!!

  4. Acupuncture is great! I did it for about 4 months and it really helped me feel better, more relaxed, sleep straight through the night, helped alleviate menstrual cramps, back muscle tension, etc. Also, look up “community acupuncture”. I live in Houston and was able to find a place called People’s Acupuncture, and it’s really awesome and incredibly affordable. Community acupuncture is based on a concept that acupuncture and alternative medicines should be affordable for the entire community, so you pay on a sliding scale. $40-60 for first treatment/consult, and $20-40 for returning visits. You determine how much you can afford or are willing to pay within that scale. The only catch is that you are treated in a community room, which is like a big living room with recliners all around. You choose where you want to lie down for your treatment and there may be 2-3 other people receiving treatment at the same time. It’s not a down – side to me at all as there was only one acupuncturist seeing patients at one time, and so they set you up one by one and you basically take a nap for an hour while they almost silently set up one or two people across the room. It was really cool and I’d still be going if I lived inner city or could find an affordable place nearby.

  5. Also, awesome new for your friend and glad you can rejoice with her. I’ve always said that if I get to a place where I can’t be happy for friends or family that het pregnant, then I don’t deserve it myself.

Leave a comment